



Come See Us After Hours

We heard you! Based on what you told us, CARMC has added Karen Langdon, MS, PA-C, for After Hours care. Patients can now walk in or make an appointment from 8 am to 6:30 pm on Monday, 8 am – 8 pm Tuesday – Friday, and from 9 am – 5 pm on Saturday.

Karen brings small town mots and larger only experience to her new position in Hoopeston. After growin up in a small town in Ohio, she earned degrees from Texas A&M and Exylor. She has treated emergency department patients in Michigan, and After Hours and Raral Health clinic patients in northern Illinos before choosing to practice in Hoopeston. Karen brings over 16 years of experience to the new After Hours care at Charlotte Anne Rassell Medical Center.

> EXTENDED Walk-In Clinic Hours Monday 8 am – 6:30 pm Tuesday-Friday 8 am – 8 pm Saturday 9 am – 5 pm



Endowment of former Hoopeston teacher to fund projects

The honor of a Faculty Endowed Chair is treasured within the academic community. At Danville Area Community College, the Faculty Endowed Chair program is administered by the DACC Foundation and funded by generous and progressive local donors. An Endowed Chair underwrites professional, curriculum, and student development initiatives for an outstanding faculty member who presents a well-crafted plan for the Chair's use. The Foundation announced two awards at the 2010 Honors Program. Phyllis Wille, Nursing instructor, received the Keith and Nancy Bates Faculty Endowed Chair in Math and Science for her proposal to enhance

HARLOT

Appointments also accepted, call 217.283.5644

MEDICAL CENTER

801 E. Orange Street, Hoopeston

Charlotte Ann Russell Medical Center is a department of HiRHC.

Now Open

the pediatric nursing clinical experience for DACC nursing students. Professor Glenda Boling, a national Meardy Faculty Award recipient, received the Dorothy Duley Faculty Endowed Chair in Liberal Arts for her proposal to expand the performing arts experience at DACC.

The Dorothy Duley Faculty Endowed Chair in Liberal Arts is a two-year award. The Duley Chair was established in 1992 by the estate of Dorothy Duley, a retired English teacher from Hoopeston-East Lynn High School. Professor Boling plans to use the funds to enrich performing arts activities at DACC with professional sound equipment and design, costume rental, and set pieces. Her use of the Duley Endowed Chair will enhance both the student and audience experience at DACC performing arts productions.

The Keith and Nancy Bates Faculty Endowed Chair in Math and Science is a three-year award providing faculty with a stipend for professional development and instructional enhancements. The Chair was established through the generosity of Nancy Bates, a former DACC trustee and Foundation Board member, and her husband Dr. Keith Bates, in 2007. Wille plans to use the funds to increase nursing students' exposure to the unique needs of the pediatric patient through clinical visits to a dedicated children's hospital. Her use of the Bates Endowed Chair will have a direct impact on student learning outcomes and on our community when the students graduate to serve in local health care facilities.

Police News

Joshua Watson, 26, of Hoopeston, was charged with disobeying a traffic control sign and no valid license after a traffic stop at 1:22 a.m. Sunday at Market and Main. He was released on two tickets.









Hoopeston Regional Health Center Flu Clinics Charlotte Ann Russell Medical Center Hoopeston Monday 8:30-10 a.m. Wednesday 2-4 p.m. Rossville Ambulance Barn

Tuesday 4-6 p.m.



Hoopeston Area High School students were honored Thursday for meeting or exceeding standards on last year's ACT and Prairie State Achievement tests. Of 98 students who took the tests, 24 met or exceeded standards and were rewarded for their efforts.

Hoopeston Area High School honors students who fared well on standardized testing

Twenty-four Hoopeston Area High School students were honored last week for meeting or exceeding state standards set for last year's ACT/Prairie State Achievement Exam, covering English, science, math and writing.

Students who achieved the	e honor include:
Matthew Benjamin	Lyndey Braddock
Alice Cresswell	Cody Davis
Michael Donley	Patrick Drollinger
Jerid Dunavan	Sara Hayn
Brian Huffman	Dustin Hurt
Chelsey Langenfeld	Alan Leigh
Alyssa Oyer	Evan Pierce
Dakota Prince	Zach Puralewski
Christi Richardson	Megan Roebraugh
Tyler Rush	Levi Schmid
Neil Smith	Kraig VanWieringen

Morgan Walder Aaron Yates

A drawing was held to distribute prizes donated by local businesses, including I-pod shuffles, t-shirts and gift certificates.

Students' names were returned to the drawing box to select the winner of the grand prize, a laptop computer, donated by Hoopeston Regional Health Center, won by Jerid Dunavan.

Area businesses donating prizes to the celebration were Fast Lanes, China Wok, Dairy Queen, Hollywood Video, Mr. B's Café, Olympic Hardware, Anthem Chevrolet and Dependable Auto.

Weather

Mostly sunny today. High 62. Tonight, partly cloudy. Low 37. Tomorrow, sunny. High 70, low 44. For current weather conditions, call Hoopeston Weather Service, (**217**) **283-6221**.

Also, Cellular One, Community Bank, Subway, Pamida, Pizza King, Logos Unlimited, Monical's, Café Delights, Rod's Home & Auto and Hoopeston Regional Health Center.

	HELP WANTED		
	experienced stylists wanted. Guaranteed wage. Call for inter-		
cl ne	AcMurray Insurance Agency is seeking part-time receptionist. lerical position. 20 hours per week - flexible. Basic office skills ecessary. Send resume to: 201 E. Main St., Hoopeston, IL 0942 or email us at mcmurray@advancenet.net		
W	v windows. Available immediately. \$475/mo. (217) 304-2145 MISCELLANEOUS FOR SALE		
	Building or camping lots 7 miles north of Casey, IL. 60'x141' omplete with electrical & cement slab. (217) 495-1001		
	Call (217) 283-9348 or email		
	<pre>publish@justthefacts.net to place your ad!</pre>		